Skip to Content

LCC North Eastern Area (Benalla-Upper Murray) Review (1986)

his report contains the full text of the Land Conservation Council's final recommendations for the North-eastern Area (Benalla - Upper Murray) Review. These provide an ongoing framework for use of public land in the North East. The recommendations in the text incorporate those of the LCC's original North-eastern Area Districts 1, 2 and 4 investigations in 1973, 1974, 1977 respectively where relevant, and have been edited to reflect government variations and amendments at the time of approval, and subsequent changes.


  • Draft
  • In progress
  • Completed


When the Land Conservation Council originally divided the state into study areas, the North-eastern Area was split into five districts. The LCC published separate reports and recommendations for the North-eastern Area District 1 and District 2, but amalgamated Districts 3, 4, and 5 and published a combined report and combined recommendations for these three. Districts 3 and 5 were reviewed by the Council in 1981 during the course of a Special Investigation of the Ovens Softwood Plantation Zone that the government directed the Council to undertake. These final recommendations, for the Benalla—Upper Murray review area, cover the balance of north-eastern Victoria that was not subject to the special investigation - that is, Districts 1, 2, and 4.

The report text has been edited to incorporate government decisions on the recommendations made by Orders in Council dated 16 September 1986 and 11 February 1987 and formal amendments. Subsequent changes may not have been incorporated. Where the Review refers to final recommendations for the original North-eastern Area District 1, North-eastern Area District 2, and North-eastern Area Districts 3, 4 & 5 (regarding District 4), for completeness recommendation wording and Crown descriptions have been reproduced.

The recommendations are grouped under major headings, such as Parks, Flora and Fauna Reserves, Agriculture, State forest and so on. Key recommendations are for Mount Lawson State Park, Wodonga and Mount Mitta Mitta Regional Parks.

Go to the digital archive on this website for all LCC published reports and maps for both the original North-eastern Area and this review. The digital archive is a comprehensive resource containing all reports and maps as published, without amendment or annotation.

Back to top